live code seems to gratuitously unlock write permission for directories

Dr. Hawkins dochawk at gmail.com
Fri Dec 2 20:42:36 CET 2016


On Fri, Dec 2, 2016 at 11:05 AM, Bob Sneidar <bobsneidar at iotecdigital.com>
wrote:

> So what *actually* happens when you save a file is, the old file is
> renamed by prepending a tilde (~) to the filename, then an attempt to save
> the file as the original is attempted. If all goes well, the backup copy is
> deleted. So in a sense you are not actually saving, you are saving as.


However, if the directory is write-locked by the OS, both of these
operations should fail . . .


-- 
Dr. Richard E. Hawkins, Esq.
(702) 508-8462


More information about the use-livecode mailing list