live code seems to gratuitously unlock write permission for directories

Bob Sneidar bobsneidar at iotecdigital.com
Fri Dec 2 14:05:22 EST 2016


So what *actually* happens when you save a file is, the old file is renamed by prepending a tilde (~) to the filename, then an attempt to save the file as the original is attempted. If all goes well, the backup copy is deleted. So in a sense you are not actually saving, you are saving as. 

Someone correct me on this if I am wrong. 

Bob S


> On Dec 2, 2016, at 10:55 , Dr. Hawkins <dochawk at gmail.com> wrote:
> 
> On Fri, Dec 2, 2016 at 9:59 AM, Rick Harrison <harrison at all-auctions.com>
> wrote:
> 
>> Ok, so it sounds like you are using an LC stack file.
>> You are opening that LC stack from within LC
>> so LC/macOS, (assuming your are on a Macintosh Computer),
>> is going to update the “Date Modified” date because LC/you
>> have touched the file.  That’s built into the OS and is
>> deliberate.
>> 
> 
> Yes, but changing from mode 555 to 755 is not; that's livecode.   . . .



More information about the Use-livecode mailing list