Unusual list spam - caution

J. Landman Gay jacque at hyperactivesw.com
Fri Jul 10 20:40:41 CEST 2015

I checked my tablet, the enclosures were just html copies of the 
original text. So I'm not sure what that warning means, since there was 
no spam or phising links or anything besides the one-sentence warning 
that did not come from the listserve.

On 7/10/2015 1:21 PM, J. Landman Gay wrote:
> I'm not sure what this means but it probably deserves a heads-up. I
> received three emails today that appeared to be replies to the three
> list posts I made yesterday. They were all from the same person, whose
> name I do not recognize. The entire text of the message was:
>      This registration used a hijacked email address!
> followed by a quoted copy of my post. There was no other text.
> When I first saw these on my Android tablet they each included an
> enclosure of different lengths. That was the tip-off to check the
> headers, since this list does not allow enclosures. The headers of a
> real list mail include "on-rev.com", these had no mention of the on-rev
> domain. They all came from a private user domain via Quest.
> I then retrieved the email on my Mac and there are no enclosures listed
> for any of the three. I'm not sure where they went, I didn't open them.
> They may have been copies of the quoted posts but I'm not sure.
> At any rate, something odd is going on so keep an eye out.

Jacqueline Landman Gay         |     jacque at hyperactivesw.com
HyperActive Software           |     http://www.hyperactivesw.com

More information about the use-livecode mailing list