Grabbing the Date and Time From a Time Server on the Internet

stephen barncard stephenREVOLUTION2 at barncard.com
Mon Aug 15 14:57:24 EDT 2011


Bob, I don't see a "ton of html" at
http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/cgi-bin/timer.pl
It's just about as simple as it could be presented. It took just a few lines
of Livecode to scrape. Determine AM and PM and one could even translate to
24 hour clock. There's about a half second of latency.

I just see this html:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 3.2 Final"//EN>
<html>
<body>
<TITLE>What time is it?</TITLE>
<H2> US Naval Observatory Master Clock Time</H2> <H3><PRE>
<BR>Aug. 15, 18:52:50 UTC		Universal Time
<BR>Aug. 15, 02:52:50 PM EDT	Eastern Time
<BR>Aug. 15, 01:52:50 PM CDT	Central Time
<BR>Aug. 15, 12:52:50 PM MDT	Mountain Time
<BR>Aug. 15, 11:52:50 AM PDT	Pacific Time
<BR>Aug. 15, 10:52:50 AM AKDT	Alaska Time
<BR>Aug. 15, 08:52:50 AM HAST	Hawaii-Aleutian Time
</PRE></H3><P><A HREF="http://www.usno.navy.mil"> US Naval Observatory</A>

</body></html>



On 15 August 2011 10:25, Bob Sneidar <bobs at twft.com> wrote:

> This returns a ton of html, from which the date time can be filtered using
> "<H2>*", but since it takes about 30 seconds to run, and returns 32 entries,
> I am not sure how useful this would for him, if he wanted an exact time
> (within a second or two).
>
> Time servers are NTP:\\ aren't they? Looks like the revURL library does not
> support NTP, or not that I can see. Any attempt to use it in a URL returns
> empty in it and invalid URL: in the result.
>
> A quick browse for http based time servers came up dry.
>
> Bob
>
>
> On Aug 13, 2011, at 11:15 AM, Mark Wieder wrote:
>
> > Gregory-
> >
> > Saturday, August 13, 2011, 10:33:29 AM, you wrote:
> >
> >> Taking another kick at the cat here.  I’d like to use something like
> >
> >>        get url (http://[time server address])
> >
> > How's this?
> >
> > http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/cgi-bin/anim
> >
> > --
> > -Mark Wieder
> > mwieder at ahsoftware.net
> >
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > use-livecode mailing list
> > use-livecode at lists.runrev.com
> > Please visit this url to subscribe, unsubscribe and manage your
> subscription preferences:
> > http://lists.runrev.com/mailman/listinfo/use-livecode
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> use-livecode mailing list
> use-livecode at lists.runrev.com
> Please visit this url to subscribe, unsubscribe and manage your
> subscription preferences:
> http://lists.runrev.com/mailman/listinfo/use-livecode
>



-- 



Stephen Barncard
San Francisco Ca. USA

more about sqb  <http://www.google.com/profiles/sbarncar>



More information about the Use-livecode mailing list