convert does not understand daylight savings?

Jeffrey Massung massung at gmail.com
Sat Apr 17 21:11:57 CDT 2010


On Apr 17, 2010, at 3:33 PM, Sivakatirswami wrote:

> [.. snip ..]
> 
> returns...
> 
> <pubDate>Sat, 17 Apr 2010 00:00:01 PST</pubDate>
> 
> but it should be returning <pubDate>Sat, 17 Apr 2010 00:00:01 PDT</pubDate>


Have you tried using the internet date instead of english date? That should return -0500 instead of -0600. You can then convert the military hour offset to the proper time zone if you wish. For my RSS reader app, here's a little field I put together to do the conversions:

GMT,+0000
BST,+0100
IST,+0100
WET,+0000
WEST,+0100
CET,+0100
CEST,+0200
EET,+0200
EEST,+0300
MSK,+0300
MSD,+0400
NST,-0330
NDT,-0230
AST,-0400
ADT,-0300
EST,-0500
EDT,-0400
CST,-0600
CDT,-0500
MST,-0700
MDT,-0600
PST,-0800
PDT,-0700
AKST,-0900
AKDT,-0800
HAST,-1000
HADT,-0900
NFT,+1130
AEST,+1000
AEDT,+1100
ACST,+0930
ACDT,+1030
AWST,+0800
AWDT,+0900
CXT,+0700

Jeff M.


More information about the use-livecode mailing list