Stack with the same name loop
J. Landman Gay
jacque at hyperactivesw.com
Thu Oct 7 13:38:09 EDT 2021
For me, the confusion would be resolved if the Save button was renamed to
"Save and Purge". I was never quite sure what that button saved, though in
retrospect it's pretty obvious.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw.com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com
On October 7, 2021 9:39:43 AM Mark Waddingham via use-livecode
<use-livecode at lists.runrev.com> wrote:
> If you choose 'Cancel' it takes no action - so nothing changes (no new
> stack loaded, no old stack deleted).
> If you choose 'Purge' the IDE does its best to remove the current stack
> in memory and *then* trys to load the new stack (from the different
> filepath) - as (in principal) there is no longer any stack in memory
> with the conflicting name, then engine loads it and things carry on.
> If you choose 'Save' the IDE does the same as above except that *before*
> it tries to remove the current stack from memory, it saves (save as, if
> the current stack has no filename).
More information about the use-livecode