[OT] Hello World

Richmond Mathewson richmondmathewson at gmail.com
Tue Sep 5 14:46:45 EDT 2017

Here is the publisher's domain: https://helloworld.raspberrypi.org/

And teachers right across the world are merrily downloading that PDF 
without getting their knickers in a twist.


On 9/5/17 9:03 pm, Richard Gaskin via use-livecode wrote:
> Bob Sneidar wrote:
> >> On Sep 1, 2017, at 12:16 , Richmond Mathewson wrote:
> >> Page 71
> >>
> > 
> https://s3-eu-west-1.[LINK_ALTERED_FOR_SAFETY].com/rpi-magazines/issues/full_pdfs/000/000/004/original/HelloWorld03.pdf?1504167546
> >> Richmond Mathewson.
> ...
> > It wasn't Richmond, it was your full name. And I DO know what's wrong
> > because my boss, after many urgings not to click the link, clicked the
> > link, and encrypted all the files on our files server. Sure we had a
> > backup, so we recovered all the files but the ones since the last
> > backup.
> @Bob: I think I missed something.  Is the link given above dangerous? 
> I've altered it for safety here, but it would be unusual if it were.
> The link is direct to a PDF (a format which is not entirely without 
> its risks I suppose) but isn't embedded within a page that has 
> JavaScript. Indeed, it's not an an HTML page at all.
> So does the PDF itself contain ransomware, and if so which variant?  
> And how quickly after clicking the link did the encrypting begin?  I 
> opened that PDF in Chrome an hour ago.  I have multiple backups, but 
> it would be helpful to know if I need to budget time today to prepare 
> for recovery.
> If not, what link are you referring to?
> @Richmond: why do you suppose the publisher doesn't have a domain name?

More information about the Use-livecode mailing list