Corrupted Stacks

Iden Rosenthal iden at idenrosenthal.com
Sun Mar 26 23:26:14 EST 2006


I just started using Dreamcard (how nice to be back with xtalk after  
all these years) but after I did some work on some stacks I went back  
to work on them again and it told me when I tried to open a substack  
that the stack was corrupted. This was a shocker. I don't really  
trust Dreamcard when I try to save files over the older versions it  
seems to work. But then if I try and open what I have saved it tell  
me there is already something with that name open and do I want to  
Purge or Save or some such nonsense. It really isn't very intuitive.  
Applications should just destroy the files that you save over the  
names of with a different version. I don't get why Dreamcard seems to  
be a nudge about there having been a previous file that I thought I  
had done away with but somehow I didn't. Fortunately I did have my  
work saved elsewhere in a copy of a stack I had been working on that  
was not corrupted but it wasn't because I tried to make a backup out  
of it -- it was only because I am working on a large series of stacks  
that are all copies of each other basically (differing only in their  
info content). I think I would have been quite upset if Dreamcard had  
told me to look for a backup of my work (which it does when a stack  
corrupted message appears) but it doesn't automatically create  
backups and by chance I didn't have one. Is there some way I can  
avoid this in future other than always having two or three backups  
saved?



More information about the Use-livecode mailing list