loss of access to stacks after "save as"

Mark Waddingham mark at livecode.com
Fri Nov 4 15:24:34 EDT 2016


I suspect it will be because you are referencing your stacks by (the old) filename somewhere else and not name - thus causing the engine to load in the old file, the stack in which has the same name as the existing stack in memory.

'Saving as' does not create a new stack (in memory) it just saves the stack which is in memory to disk in a new file.

Putting it another way, the 'new' stack is already loaded as it is the same stack as it was before - the only things which have changed is the stacks filename property and there being a new file on disk.

Mark.

Sent from my iPhone

> On 4 Nov 2016, at 19:15, Dr. Hawkins <dochawk at gmail.com> wrote:
> 
>> On Fri, Nov 4, 2016 at 12:11 PM, Mark Waddingham <mark at livecode.com> wrote:
>> 
>> Therefore when you subsequently reference the stack by its old filename
>> (in the delete) it will load the old stackfile, thus triggering the process
>> that occurs when you try to load a stack into memory when one with the same
>> name already exists.
> 
> OK--but so how do I get rid of the old stack, and get the new one loaded.
> 
> This is the only place where I use the filename rather than the stack name
> (ok, I compute them on initial load, too).
> 
> If I don't delete the old stack, I get the messages that I have two stacks
> with the same name, etc.
> 
> thanks
> 
> 
> -- 
> Dr. Richard E. Hawkins, Esq.
> (702) 508-8462
> _______________________________________________
> use-livecode mailing list
> use-livecode at lists.runrev.com
> Please visit this url to subscribe, unsubscribe and manage your subscription preferences:
> http://lists.runrev.com/mailman/listinfo/use-livecode




More information about the Use-livecode mailing list