Multiple Mobile Shutdown Messages?

Scott Rossi scott at tactilemedia.com
Wed Feb 3 00:18:43 CET 2016


Actually, openStack seems to work the same -- not sent after resuming from
being backgrounded.  So several options to be had :-)

Thanks again,

Scott Rossi
Creative Director
Tactile Media, UX/UI Design




On 2/2/16, 3:11 PM, "use-livecode on behalf of Scott Rossi"
<use-livecode-bounces at lists.runrev.com on behalf of
scott at tactilemedia.com> wrote:

>OK, it looks like the "startup" message is indeed the way to go: sent when
>launching fresh, not sent when launching after suspended.
>
>Thanks guys.
>
>Regards,
>
>Scott Rossi
>Creative Director
>Tactile Media, UX/UI Design
>
>
>
>
>On 2/2/16, 2:25 PM, "use-livecode on behalf of Scott Rossi"
><use-livecode-bounces at lists.runrev.com on behalf of
>scott at tactilemedia.com> wrote:
>
>>Thanks for the suggestions.  The pList option could work, but what
>>message
>>is sent when launching the stack from the backgrounded state?  Resume?
>>
>>Thanks & Regards,
>>
>>Scott Rossi
>>Creative Director
>>Tactile Media, UX/UI Design
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>On 2/2/16, 1:19 PM, "use-livecode on behalf of Mike Kerner"
>><use-livecode-bounces at lists.runrev.com on behalf of
>>MikeKerner at roadrunner.com> wrote:
>>
>>>I haven't played with this, but thinking aloud:
>>>1) Set the plist so the app doesn't exit on suspend
>>>2) Therefore, you won't get an exit message unless the app is quit.  Set
>>>a
>>>flag
>>>3) on preOpenStack check for the flag.
>>>
>>>On Tue, Feb 2, 2016 at 3:44 PM, Scott Rossi <scott at tactilemedia.com>
>>>wrote:
>>>
>>>> Hi All:
>>>>
>>>> I'm wondering if there are different messages sent on mobile (iOS)
>>>>when
>>>>an
>>>> app is backgrounded versus when the app is swipe-dismissed (removed
>>>>from
>>>> the list of backgrounded apps).
>>>>
>>>> I'm trying to set up a sort of "reset" behavior in an app that allows
>>>> starting from screen 1 instead of starting from the last saved point.
>>>>I'm
>>>> saving user settings normally in a on shutDown handler, but I can't
>>>>figure
>>>> out it there's some way to detect when the app has been "fully closed"
>>>> (removed), so when the user relaunches the app it knows to start fresh
>>>> from screen 1.
>>>>
>>>> The only thing that comes to mind is a time stamp and setting an
>>>>arbitrary
>>>> session time threshold, like 10 minutes: if the user relaunches within
>>>>the
>>>> time limit they go back to where they left off, but if relaunching
>>>>outside
>>>> the time limit, they start over.  Obviously this isn't ideal as it
>>>>forces
>>>> a 10 minute wait to really start over.  Is there another message
>>>>besides
>>>> shutDown that I'm missing?
>>>>
>>>> I'd prefer not to use a reset button as this is never done on iOS --
>>>>when
>>>> apps are removed from the backgrounded apps list, they usually "know"
>>>>to
>>>> start over.
>>>>
>>>> Any ideas?
>>>>
>>>> Thanks & Regards,
>>>>
>>>> Scott Rossi
>>>> Creative Director
>>>> Tactile Media, UX/UI Design
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>





More information about the use-livecode mailing list