Unusual list spam - caution

Ralph DiMola rdimola at evergreeninfo.net
Fri Jul 10 21:21:02 CEST 2015

As I've said for the last few years "Live by the internet...Die by the
internet" Look US OPM hack, Home Depot, Target.... Seems awfully
coincidental that the NYSE, Airline and WSJ went down the same day with very
fuzzy explanations. We had an employee get Crypto Locker 3.0 last night. The
Crypto thing in out in full force.

Don't open any email that even looks sketchy. Only go to YourBank.com or
sears.com.... And it goes without saying no FREE or XXX searching.

I would not blame this on on-rev as much as the hackers trying to shut down
the world. I had current anti-virus/malware on that computer and still due
to an employee's carless surfing Crypto got thru.

PS: I feel bad when I even catch a mouse in a trap and don't believe in the
death penalty or torture but I'm ashamed to say I would not have a problem
with giving these hackers a sign that says "Bikers screw their mothers" and
tossing them into a biker bar.

Ralph DiMola
IT Director
Evergreen Information Services
rdimola at evergreeninfo.net

-----Original Message-----
From: use-livecode [mailto:use-livecode-bounces at lists.runrev.com] On Behalf
Of J. Landman Gay
Sent: Friday, July 10, 2015 2:41 PM
To: LiveCode Mailing List
Subject: Re: Unusual list spam - caution

I checked my tablet, the enclosures were just html copies of the original
text. So I'm not sure what that warning means, since there was no spam or
phising links or anything besides the one-sentence warning that did not come
from the listserve.

On 7/10/2015 1:21 PM, J. Landman Gay wrote:
> I'm not sure what this means but it probably deserves a heads-up. I 
> received three emails today that appeared to be replies to the three 
> list posts I made yesterday. They were all from the same person, whose 
> name I do not recognize. The entire text of the message was:
>      This registration used a hijacked email address!
> followed by a quoted copy of my post. There was no other text.
> When I first saw these on my Android tablet they each included an 
> enclosure of different lengths. That was the tip-off to check the 
> headers, since this list does not allow enclosures. The headers of a 
> real list mail include "on-rev.com", these had no mention of the 
> on-rev domain. They all came from a private user domain via Quest.
> I then retrieved the email on my Mac and there are no enclosures 
> listed for any of the three. I'm not sure where they went, I didn't open
> They may have been copies of the quoted posts but I'm not sure.
> At any rate, something odd is going on so keep an eye out.

Jacqueline Landman Gay         |     jacque at hyperactivesw.com
HyperActive Software           |     http://www.hyperactivesw.com

use-livecode mailing list
use-livecode at lists.runrev.com
Please visit this url to subscribe, unsubscribe and manage your subscription

More information about the use-livecode mailing list