[ANN] New plugin AAG|LayerComps

J. Landman Gay jacque at hyperactivesw.com
Fri Jul 22 16:26:00 CDT 2011


On 7/22/11 4:04 PM, Pete Haworth wrote:
> That sounds great!  If I'm understanding it correctly, it will get round one
> of my pet peeves about changing card layouts in the IDE - many of the
> changes cannot be undone and even if you close the card and say you don't
> want to save, the changes are already saved.

The changes aren't really saved, LiveCode never does that. Probably your 
stacks are using the default setting of the destroyStack property, which 
is not to remove the stack from RAM when it closes. In that case, 
closing the stack removes it from the message path and from view, but 
keeps the current copy in memory. The next time you open it, it opens 
the copy in RAM which does still contain your changes. It hasn't been 
saved to disk though, and if you quit LiveCode, or choose "Close and 
remove from memory" from the file menu, then you'll see it revert to its 
last-saved state.

One of the first things I do when setting up preferences is to set the 
default behavior of destroystack to true, so that the situation never 
occurs. When I click the close box, the stack is removed completely so 
that when it re-opens, its actual last-saved state is active.

Destroystack was intended to speed up the display 15 years ago when 
machines were much slower. It isn't really needed any more. The one 
advantage it does have is if you don't save a stack and then you're 
sorry, you can get your unsaved changes back by re-opening the stack 
before you quit LiveCode. So it's a trade-off.

You can set the destroystack property for newly-created stacks in the 
Files and Memory section of prefs. This won't change stacks you already 
have created. For that, use the stack property inspector.

-- 
Jacqueline Landman Gay         |     jacque at hyperactivesw.com
HyperActive Software           |     http://www.hyperactivesw.com



More information about the use-livecode mailing list